Direction

Greetings from DC!

Despite the snow and cold, I am safe and sound in my new abode!  This has been a banner week for me: I started my internship at The American Conservative and I got into graduate school.  Huzzah!  It’s important to remember those in times of happiness who are less fortunate.  My heart and prayers go out to Avonte Oquendo’s family, particularly his mother.  We should rejoice with those who rejoice, weep with those who weep.

Before I left for DC, I had lunch with my surrogate dad and told him about my proposed project for this blog.  He mentioned Averroes, the 12th century Muslim judge born in Cordoba and was appointed as a judge in  Sevilla.  His interpretations of Sharia law did not match with his employer’s, who exiled him.  He was eventually reinstated but died soon afterwards.

I don’t know much about Averroes, but I like him already.  He was both a learned and religious man, whose likely reasonable interpretations of Sharia went against the political status quo of the day.  In his pious integrity, he was also a nerdwarrior for justice (that is a word, I made it up).  That’s pretty cool.

I decided to start my Christianity and Reason project with Pascal, who came several hundred years after Averroes, because he was a mathematician who underwent a conversion.  After his experience, he never worked on mathematics again and instead turned to philosophy.  I think I’ll start with one of his most famous works, Pensées.

Until next time, dear readers!

 

Marjorie

Leave a Reply

