I’m Back (Where I’ve Been)

Hello, everyone.

I had two impacted wisdom teeth removed last week. My dentist was excellent and did an amazing job, but losing two teeth in a week has subjected me to pain that I had never experienced before. I had surgery two years ago, and after a couple of days on Percocet I was fine. But last week, at its worst, the pain extended from my right temple to my chin. It also crawled into my ear, down my throat, and wrapped around the back of my neck. I couldn’t sleep. I ate apple sauce and pureed carrots. I took morphine and codeine (not simultaneously!) and sat in front of the television while writing sentimental messages to my friends on Facebook. I took extensions on my graduate school assignments.

And then, two days ago, the pain subsided. I caught up on my graduate school work, and am now ready to get back to regularly scheduled programming. I’m still in some pain, but I can take Tylenol or Ibuprofen and can function normally, thank goodness.

Now for our Friday Wrap-Up:

Malala Yousafzai won the Nobel Peace Prize alongside Kailash Satyarthi. I’m relieved to read good news; the constant Ebola coverage has been a persistent emotional drain.¬†There is speculation that awarding the prize to an Indian man and Pakistani woman will help improve relations between the two countries.

There’s been another shooting in Ferguson. Tensions have been brewing under the surface: protests have continued, and another black teenager was shot sixteen times. Police and eyewitness reports conflict: the police say the suspect had a gun, while others say it was a sandwich.

Unsurprisingly, the Hong Kong government canceled talks with the protesters today. The protests seem to have wound down, but this new development has reignited demonstrations.

Guys, if you’ve been looking of an excuse to save on the engagement ring, here’s your vindication: a study published by two economists at Emory University argues a positive relationship between expensive engagement rings, lavish weddings, and divorce. In other words, if your bride-to-be is materialistic, lose her. Marriage is about commitment and sacrifice, not elaborate floral arrangements. Gracy Olmstead at The American Conservative goes into further detail. It’s a terrific article and worth the read.

Have a great weekend, everyone! See you Monday

Marjorie

Leave a Reply

